Heisa about penalty against Real Madrid, Thibaut Courtois also interferes: “They never whistle this in the Champions League”

It took until the 70th minute before Vinícius Júnior could break the spell for Real. But ten minutes later it was already 1-1. Girona was awarded a penalty for an alleged handball by Marco Asensio. Cristhian Stuani didn’t fail and put the final score on the board.

Afterwards, Asensio left little ambiguity about what he thought of that decision. “The definition of no hands, as it was explained to us at the beginning of the season. It’s unbelievable what happened today,” said the Spaniard with Dutch roots.

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Asensio received support from trainer Carlo Ancelotti. “I don’t like to talk about these kinds of things, but I’m going to say something about it,” said the Italian. “It’s pretty clear that this wasn’t a penalty because the ball didn’t hit his hand, but his chest. His left hand is indeed in a strange position and if the ball had touched his hand, then doubts could arise. But that wasn’t the case, they just invented that. And that has had an impact on the party.”

Defender Dani Carvajal thought it was “unbelievable” that the penalty was called, while Thibaut Courtois – who again failed to keep a clean sheet in La Liga – also had questions.

“During the discussions with the referees, they told us that this is not a handball if it comes after a rebound through your own body,” said the Red Devil. “I don’t think they whistle this in the Champions League. But they thought it was hands and that was it. This really rarely happens. Sometimes it’s hands, sometimes not. We don’t even know anymore.”

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

There was also discussion about Rodrygo’s disallowed winning goal. The Brazilian seemed to score the 2-1 correctly, but was called back for a foul on the goalkeeper.

“The second situation is more debatable,” Ancelotti said. “If a goalkeeper has the ball in his hands, you can choose to whistle. I will not go into that further. I was more surprised by that penalty kick. It was given at a crucial moment, because the game was almost decided.”

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Here is inserted content from a social media network that wants to write or read cookies. You have not given permission for this.

Previous Post

LIVE. They close in Leverkusen: Club Brugge is getting ready for the last group match in the Champions League

Next Post

Pacajus x Maracanã: where to watch live with images and lineups

Related Posts